Valley Stars recognized at 20th Annual Gala & Awards Ceremony on June 3rd

Valley Stars recognized at 20th Annual Gala & Awards Ceremony on June 3rd

San Fernando Valley stars were recognized and awarded for business, leadership and entertainment at The Valley Economic Alliance’s 20th Annual Valley of the Stars Gala and Awards Ceremony on Saturday, June 3rd at The Collection at Galpin Auto Sports.

The 2017 “Star of the Valley” award recipients were:

-Jane Boeckmann – Business Award. Jane has contributed countless hours to the development and support of numerous community projects and programs. A touching video presentation highlighted Jane’s compassion and humanitarianism. Jane was the publisher of Valley magazine, a pilot, and is the co-owner of Galpin Motors. She currently works alongside her husband as Corporate Secretary for Galpin Motors, Inc.
-Marianne Haver Hill – Leadership Award. Marianne is the new Executive Director of PROPEL LA, the countrywide strategic plan for economic development, housed at the Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation (LAEDC). She was previously the President and CEO of Meet Each Need for Dignity for 29 years, the largest poverty relief agency serving 40,000 people per month in the San Fernando Valley. Marianne stressed the importance of community, leadership and service during her acceptance speech.
-Bob Miller – Arts and Entertainment Award. Hockey Hall of Fame broadcaster who retired in March 2017 after 44 years as the Voice of the Los Angeles Kings. He worked the first 17 years simulcast on TV and radio and the last 27 years as the exclusive television voice of the team.

Bill Allen, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Los Angeles Economic Development Corporation and first CEO of The Valley Economic Alliance was the Gala’s Master of Ceremonies.

Guests enjoyed hors d’oeuvres, beautiful classic cars, a sushi bar, seafood display, carving station, mashed potato martini bar, dessert, cocktails, and live music provided by Los Angeles Valley College’s Roberto Gutierrez and band, OSTIA.

Special guests included United States Congressman Brad Sherman, California Senator Bob Hertzberg, City of Calabasas Mayor pro Tem, Fred Gaines, City of Los Angeles Councilmember Bob Blumenfield, City of Glendale Councilmember Ara Najarian, City of Burbank Councilmember Bob Frutos, and City of San Fernando Councilmember Joel Fajardo.

Platinum event sponsors were Galpin Motors and Wells Fargo Bank. Gold sponsors were Chase Bank and Southland Regional Association of Realtors, Inc. Silver sponsors were Bill Allen, City of Burbank, City of Glendale, California State University Northridge and LAEDC. Bronze Sponsors were Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, Express Employment Professionals, US Bank, David Fleming, and Los Angeles Community College District.

Subscribe to Alliance News

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay informed with regular updates straight to your inbox.